Stage 2

Key Stage 2

Key Stage 2 is the legal term for the four years of schooling in maintained schools in England and Wales normally known as Year 3, Year 4, Year 5 and Year 6, when pupils are aged between 7 and 11.  In Key Stage 2 pupils are taught compulsary national curriculum subjects.  These are:

  • English
  • maths
  • science
  • design and technology
  • history
  • geography
  • art and design
  • music
  • physical education (PE), including swimming
  • computing

They must also provide religious education but parents may opt for their child not to study it.

At Moorgate Primary Academy we also teach:

  • personal, social, health and economic education (PSHE)
  • modern foreign languages (French)

Tests and assessments

Pupils are tested formally at the end of Key Stage 2 (Year 6).

Key Stage 2 tests cover:

  • English reading
  • English grammar, punctuation and spelling
  • maths (including mental arithmetic and reasoning)

The tests are taken in mid-May and you’ll get the results in July.

Your child’s test results will be recorded in their final annual report along with teacher assessments.  Teacher assessments are based on your child’s work throughout the year.


SUAT supports and leads in the set-up of new academies joining the partnership.  The services provided by the central support function cover both educational and non-educational support.  In terms of educational support, SUAT is linked to the School of Eduction of Staffordshire University, which is an outstanding ITT provider.

Join the Trust